ABOUT SERVICE WEEK-Praveena

For service week ;I went to free store.

History Of Free Store

As old as Auroville, the Free Store is as the name suggests, a store were things are free. Descendant of early Auroville’s barter and exchange system, the Free Store now offers a range of new and pre-loved clothes, crockery, books and music to any Aurovillian who needs, yes for free. Customers choose what they want, leave their name and a list of items taken, say thanks and walk out of the door. The place is a blessing for many of the Aurovillians who live, as honorary voluntary workers, on a very basic maintenance and can ‘go shop’ this way. Free Store has no members, being open to all Newcomers and Aurovillians.

Efforts are always made to arrange for a pleasant ambiance and freshly laundered materials to be available. Aside from the pre-loved, the Free Store on occasion offers new clothes from companies like ‘Auromode’, ‘Upasana’ and ‘Hidesign’ as well as monthly donations by other Auroville units. Pressed flower handmade paper envelopes, writing paper and postcards add to the Free Store’s quality of service. The Free Store doesn’t stop at giving away things, it also offers a free Tailoring service, which focuses on repairs but occasionally makes new garments.

What Did You Do There ?

I enjoyed working in Free Store. It was awesome. There I folded clothes ,hung  them on hangers and arranged the things. Then they shifted me to a magic house, it was different and looked pretty. They gave me some German and French games to play. I had some free time also. I did the same things every day.

What Did You Learn There ?

I learned how to fold clothes properly, hold things gently. I  learned how to interact with the customers. I also got much information about the clothes export business.

How Did You Feel There ?

It was a nice service week for me. I got a second hand Nokia phone there, I also got a bag, some color sticks. I felt really happy working there and the work was not so hard. I was happy and they were also happy to have me there.

Leave a Reply

